logo for the League of Women Voters of Salina

The League of Women Voters of Kansas is a grassroots volunteer organization with nine local Leagues across the state. Elected boards consisting of officers and directors govern LWVK and each local League.  The two year terms of state board members are staggered. The LWVK board meets monthly, alternating between conference calls and in-person meetings around the state.

League business meetings, called Councils, convene in even-numbered years. Conventions, more educational and inspirational gatherings, convene in odd-numbered years. Elections take place at both.

Local chapters are members of the state League and state Leagues are members of the national League, The League of Women Voters of the United States.



Current LWVK Board of Directors


Teresa Briggs (Emporia) – Co-President 2017 – 2019

Cille King (Douglas Co.) – Co-President 2017 – 2019

Martha Pint (Wichita) – 1st Vice-President 2017 – 2019

Melissa Carlson (Johnson Co.) – 2nd Vice-President 2016 – 2018

Eleanor Browning (Emporia) – Secretary 2017 – 2019

Anita Kaiser (Johnson Co.) – Treasurer 2016 – 2018

Board Members:

Ellen Miller (Johnson Co.) – Membership 2017 – 2019

Jari Marietta (Great Bend) – Development 2017 – 2019

Jacqueline Lightcap (Topeka) – PR 2017 – 2019

Georgia Sandlin (Topeka) – At-Large 2017 – 2019

Natasha Martinez (Topeka) At-Large 2017 – 2018



2017-2018 Nominating Committee:

Debra Duncan (Douglas Co.), Chair

Gwen Elliott (Topeka)

Betty Wyckoff (Member at Large)


LWVK Bylaws